Another NYTimes MySpace Article

The New York Times has another MySpace article, this one giving a bit of history behind the service and how it came into existence.

Some interesting notes from the article:

  • The actual selling price for MySpace was actually $649 million. All along the numbers have been reported at $525 million, so I guess the final number must have been a little higher than what we all thought. Still, nearly a billion dollars for such a simple a great idea? We should all be so lucky. The only problem is that Tom Anderson and Chris DeWolfe didn’t actually want MySpace to be sold to Fox; instead, they were dragged along kicking and screaming and recieved a very small sum of the total sale amount. In truth, it was probably like ten million dollars apiece, which is not very small, but I guess I’d be complaining, too, if the total sale was almost a billion dollars and I only recieved a paltry ten mil.
  • The next big advertising gambit for MySpace? Advertisers with profiles. Yeah, like a sixteen year old kid is really gonna want to add Tide or Microsoft as a friend. People know when they’re dealing with robots. Yeah, they add bands that they’ll likely never get a personal message from, but adding bands is a form of expression; it lets everyone know that they listen to something, that they hold something close to their hearts. I don’t foresee a time when anyone would add an advertiser as a friend because they’re so stoked about the product the advertiser is putting out.
  • It’s funny to read the article, because there’s such a direct contrast between the comments of Chris DeWolfe and the comments of those at News Corp. DeWolfe is all about the users, laughing at New Corp’s ideas on advertising, selling profiles to bands, etc, and pretty much dismisses them. I wonder how long Tom and Chris will be in charge, or even on the staff of MySpace, which by the way has grown to over 300 people.
  • And with 300 people on staff, you couldn’t hire ONE person to redo the design structure of the site so that everyone would have better-looking profiles?
  • About these ads

    3 thoughts on “Another NYTimes MySpace Article

    1. Seems my account has somehow been blocked. I never used auto-spamming tools, I never abused anyone verbally who didn’t abuse me first, and anyone who did abuse me got blocked so that I didn’t feel the urge to abuse them a second time when they respond to my response.

      However, I did send, say about an average of about 20 emails, once per day, out to random people on MySpace, for about 6 months. I built up a very modest fan base. If this constitutes spam or abuse then I need to eat my socks!

      Initially, around Sep 2006, my account sent emails, friend requests, and comments – and other people got my messages. The trouble is the nessages were all blank, and saying my account was deleted – which it is not – because here I am. That was around the beginning of Sept. Now in Nov I send stuff out, and things just don’t appear at all. My only conclusions can be that MySpace decided to kick me in the goonies, after 6 months of effort (*unts!). Or they just decided to neutralize or Indie musician accounts without telling people.

      Or perhaps someone got my password and used my account to use an auto spamming tool. Why is that my responsibility? Well – the only way my password got into someone else’s hands is probably because the MySpace database is insecure. So all you MySpace users out there, your privacy, your address, your phone number, and anything else you have on MySpace – IS NOT SECURE. Hackers must be able to get into the MySpace database. This probably has something to do with Windows and SQL Server being full of holes.

      So take heed. And if this blog is deleted, or my account is removed, or other accounts are removed, I will put this little bit of truth all over the Internet. And it is my constitutional right to state my case. I have repeatedly asked MySpace support why these little problems are occuring, and have repeatedly received a response that the problem is being worked on. The message is always the same as well – it has to be automated (computer generated). And as far as the global surfing population is concerned – the Internet really is a free country. Any attempt to control it will likely result in the offending company probably ultimately landing on garbage pile that 99% of other DOT COM companies have landed in! As far as I am concerned – the MySpace name is MUD with respect to musicians!

    Comments are closed.