The Crunchies

I couldn’t get my boss to spring for a trip to the Crunchies. Something about it being a “fluff” trip was all it took for him to say no, but I still woke up this morning interested to see the results.

A few thoughts on the results:

Facebook wins Best Overall: Yeah, this one is 100% correct. I’m still amazed at the power and simplicity of the Facebook universe. I recently got a friend signed up to Facebook; he’d never signed up, he said, because he didn’t understand what the big deal was. This was only two weeks ago, and yet today he’s a certifiable Facebook addict. I have like 5-6 Facebook Apps installed, tops; he’s going on 20 and constantly sends me invites to join his Oregon Trail. No, I will not join your Oregon Trail, but I will school you in Scrabulous. That’s the beauty of Facebook, people. It does what you want it to do. I’m not one of those guys who cares about getting my data out of Facebook, and I’ll never have more than 100 friends because I don’t NEED to add more than 100 friends. In essence, Facebook has joined Gmail as the hub of my online work, and it deserves all the accolades it gets.

Twitter wins Best Mobile Startup: I’ve had a Twitter account for a long time, but it wasn’t until only recently that I’ve really begun to realize the potential it holds. I’m fascinated by the character limit; it forces me to think about what I want to say and how to say it without the fluff, and I think that makes me a better writer. I also love getting text Twitters from my friends when I’m out and about on the town (except when Jason Calacanis starts sending hundreds of messages in a row). I’ve become hell-bent on getting my local friends to sign up, but haven’t had a lot of luck so far — but I do think that will change, and within two years, Twitter will be as well known as Facebook or MySpace. And good for Ev, too; he’s the guy that pointed the world to my Letters From Iraq blog back in 2003, thus exposing me to the blogging world and helping me get where I am today. Which, admittedly, isn’t saying a whole lot, but I’m a lot better off than I otherwise would have been.

Zoho wins Best Enterprise Startup: Zoho Creator is a recent addiction for me, but oh what an addiction it is. The past few weeks, I’ve realized that I needed a tracking system for the songs that we do on Sunday mornings at Faith West Church. I can never remember the last time we did a song or even what key we typically do it in, and it’s been a huge time-waster. Using Zoho Creator, I created an online web app that allows me to input song, key, last date used, author, vocalist and even upload the PDF chart for the song. The best part? It took me 20 minutes. Now I have a killer web database app that’s accessible by phone and browser, and it’s really saved me time when preparing for Sunday mornings. That, friends, is real user-friendly power. I will be using Creator quite often, I think.

