Uncategorized

Movable Type vs. WordPress

Both Anil Dash and Jay Allen (of Six Apart) were nice enough to drop by and leave comments on my last entry. They, understandably, took issue with the mini-verbal shellacking I gave to Movable Type, and Anil wanted to point out that I was wrong about Movable Type needing to rebuild every time you want to accomplish something. I responded to Anil saying that the last time I checked (which was about six months ago), Movable Type still needed rebuilding and still used static pages to push everything out.

Anil commented that bigger sites love Movable Type’s static pages because it allows them to scale their sites on a much easier basis than you can do with WordPress. I can’t argue with him on that point, mostly because I haven’t HAD to scale a site so much where WordPress wouldn’t be able to handle the strain. I’m hoping to get there someday with the Pulse blogs, but The Wrestling Blog gets a whole lot of traffic, and it’s not really even putting a strain on the server. If we were on the level of an Engadget or Boing Boing, perhaps, but I don’t foresee that kind of traffic coming in to any single blog at any given point. It would be nice, yes, but I’m a realist.

The truth is, I went back and forth between Movable Type and WordPress for a long, long time. I was one of the first subscribers to TypePad, and in my search for the ultimate blogging tool, I wanted to make sure I stuck with software I was comfortable with. Movable Type was clunky, and I hated the rebuilding step more than anything. I also despised the template system, but then again, at that point I pretty much hated anything that went beyond regular old HTML.

In the end, I stuck with WordPress. I love WordPress. It’s easy for novice users (which is perfect for my blog network), and there’s enough under the hood to keep me tinkering around with it for a long, long time. I’ve got six blogs installed on the same server, and I’m not even using WordPress Mu. I merely did some research, found out that you can do multiple installs by changing the MySQL prefix code for each blog, and have been cruising happily along ever since.

This is not to say that I’ll never try Movable Type again. I’ve been eagerly anticipating Project Comet since Mena announced it, and I’ll definitely be testing it out when they finally get around to releasing it. But for the most part, WordPress is a fine piece of software, and it meets all the needs I have for blogging software. Six Apart is a great company and they’ve done a lot of good for the blogging community, but Movable Type just isn’t my speed or style.

Standard

6 thoughts on “Movable Type vs. WordPress

  1. Have been considering Movable Type but finally settled on WordPress. Primarily thanks to your post, and the fact that Molly, the author of Teach Yourself Movable Type in 24 Hours, also runs WordPress on her site.

    I guess MT has it’s uses, but recompiling and playing with static files is something I would prefer to leave to others, at least until my blog will make it to the top100 and servers will have hard time keeping up ;).

    Thank you, it helped me to decide right.

    Tom

  2. MoreNarodyNaSait says:

    Programma dlia rassilki obievlenii na forumi i blogi baza 170 000 forumov i blogov RU programma Xrumer 4.0! Stoimost 50$ ICQ 374551957

Comments are closed.