Uncategorized

On Blogging and Marketing

Brian Oberkirch paid me a serious compliment tonight. We were talking about the overnight success of The Blog 50 (and another top-secret blog we’re working on), and he said that I’m like PT Barnum and have serious promotional chops. I hope that’s true. Brian is a tremendously smart individual.

I want for the Pulse Network to succeed very badly, and I think I’ve been able to come up with some original ideas. While The Blog 50 isn’t an original idea, it’s a new spin on a subject that a niche market is very interested in. In the end, that’s what I’m trying to do with ALL of these blogs — to come up with something for a market that hasn’t been effectively reached and actually REACH that market before anyone else does. We did it with The Wrestling Blog, we’re doing it with our Advice blogs, and The Blog 50 is already a smash success story.

I love that these titles are succeeding, but I’m also looking way down the line. Where do I want them to be a year from now, two years from now, five years from now? Despite what a lot of people seem to think, blogging is still a brand new medium, and there’s a lot of room left for people to leave a mark. Blogging is not dying; the ad dollars we’re seeing for our blogs is living proof of that. It’s only going to get better, but I refuse to rest and let these titles simmer. I’m constantly on the lookout for something new, some kind of new slant I can put on something. The past month has been one of the happiest I can remember, because I’m no longer chaining myself to the image that someone else tries to project on me. I love internet publishing, I love the communication that goes on, and in embracing that love, I’ve discovered something I’m actually quite effective at.

This is not to say that I’ve got it down. There’s still a long way to go. But I love marketing, I love creating something new, and I love the fact that other people are digging the concepts I’m coming up with.

Standard