Uncategorized

Draft Mania

Chris from All Fair Game put it best: “Sometimes I wish the Texans were never created.” The choice to sign Mario Williams and thus take him over Reggie Bush was idiotic at best, and catastrophic at worse. I gave up on the Texans taking Vince Young (which would have been the correct pick) weeks ago, and was getting hyped to see Bush in a Texans uniform next year. Bush has been favorably compared to a Gale Sayers-style running back, given his ability to run, recieve and return on special teams. He can do it all.

The main point here, I think, is that taking a defensive end with the first pick in the draft is about as dumb as you can get. Yeah, I can see him going at #5, and Mario Williams is a great player, but he’s not worth a #1 pick. It would have been much better if they’d traded down to #4 and gotten another pick in the first round, possibly high enough to take both Mario Williams and Vince Young.

I don’t see the potential that everyone sees in David Carr. Then again, that’s why I’m sitting here writing about the draft on a personal blog instead of preparing for the draft with the rest of the Texans office workers.

Standard