General

TheFavorites.net — Now Live

I finally grew tired of looking at the same old holding page we had on our website, and decided to do something about it. I wanted to use a content management system to control the site, and I tried out every single open-source CMS available, from Joomla all the way down to phpMyWebsite. Joomla is incredibly powerful, but it was TOO powerful, if that makes any sense. I wasn’t looking to re-invent the wheel, I was simply looking for something that would help me manage a few pages and a news update section.

In the end, I picked WordPress. Yeah, the blogging software. By utilizing the Pages feature, I’m able to create the different sections I needed in addition to the main page of the site, which serves as a blog/news update page. I realize WordPress wasn’t really created to do this type of thing, but it’s easy and I’m familiar with the software, and I’m actually happy with the way it turned out. The theme is a slight variation on Iridium, which is one of the better themes I’ve seen out there (besides Derek’s 5ThirtyOne work, of course).

So, yeah. Take a peek at the site.

Standard