General

I Need Sleep

Do you remember school or youth group lock-ins?  I was always excited for those; in my youth, the prospects of staying up for 24 hours straight and drinking tons of coke and eating abnormal amounts of pizza was something akin to a revolution. Back then, I knew that I was supposed to go to bed by 10pm, but the lock-in? I could stay up all night because it felt like a small way to rebel against the restrictions that were placed on my childhood. I think everyone probably felt this way at one point or another, because really, who in the world WOULDN'T like to stay up all night, eat junk food, and play games?

Now that I'm older and in the Army, I'm having to pull staff duty.  Just like the lock-in, I get to stay up for 24 hours.  But it's not anything like the days of my youth. I don't get excited about staff duty. I stopped drinking cokes and eating junk food a few weeks ago, so I have nothing to keep me awake.  And there's something about being FORCED to stay up that pretty much takes the appeal of the thing right away, in the blink of an eye.

I think that if lock-ins were forced on me when I was a kid, that I wouldn't think they were nearly as cool. 

Usually, I'd be able to crawl into bed at 0930 or so, and crash out for the day. I can usually get some peaceful rest post-duty. Today, however, I'll be crawling onto a bus at 1000 and heading to Houston. I'm sure I'll sleep on the bus. I'm counting on it. I sleep on the bus even when I haven't stayed up for 24 hours prior.

But man, I'm tired just thinking about it.  

I can't wait to get home, though. 

Standard