General

Exhausting Music Meme

I got this from Mena. Hey Mena, how about a Vox invite? I signed up twenty minutes after you guys put up the email submission box for Comet; I would like to think that would put me in the top list of folks who signed up to hear more about Comet, and I still haven't gotten an invitation. I've been excited about Comet ever since hearing about it, and I would seriously consider moving from WordPress.com to Vox for my full-time blog, if only I could get IN.

Music meme after the jump.


Name your top 10 most played bands on iTunes (Or Last.FM):

1. Caedmon's Call
2. Coldplay
3. Derek Webb
4. Sufjan Stevens
5. Andrew Peterson
6. Switchfoot
7. Robbie Seay Band
8. Jimmy Eat World
9. Death Cab For Cutie
10. Radiant

What was the first song you ever heard by 6 (Switchfoot)?
It was probably "Chem 6A" back in 1996 or so. We were on tour in California and Brice told me I needed to check out this local band from a town we were playing and handed me a CD. It was Switchfoot and the album was The Legend of Chen, before it ever came out. The dudes were 13 years old and I couldn't believe how good they were. And now, of course, they're on the verge of being one of the biggest bands in the world. Back then, they opened shows for us.

What is your favorite album of 2 (Coldplay)?
I'd have to say A Rush Of Blood To The Head.

What is your favorite lyric that 5 (Andrew Peterson) has sung?
"Hey Jamie, would you mind driving down the road awhile? Arizona's waiting on these eyes."

"How many times have you seen 4 (Sufjan Stevens) live?
Once. He's only been to Houston once and I missed the Austin show, but I'll never miss another one around here.

What is your favorite song by 7 (Robbie Seay Band)?
I love a bunch of songs equally, but if I had to say just one, it would be "Better Days".
What is a good memory you have involving the music of 10 (Radiant)?
The first time I heard Radiant was hanging out with my bro Tony at his dorm at Texas State. He said "hey, you've gotta hear this." I was laying on the bed when he put it on, and I can distinctly remember everything about that moment, the first time I heard "Way You Make Me Feel". I've very rarely experienced anything like that with other bands. Actually, I'd say that Radiant, Sufjan Stevens and Caedmon's Call are the only three I could truthfully say that about.

Is there a song of 3 (Derek Webb) that makes you sad?
Yeah. "Just Don't Want Coffee" is one of his other songs, and though it's about Derek's struggles as a Christian and trying to figure out a way to date an atheist, I still take a lot more from the song as far as relationships go. It's the perfect song to put on when you're struggling and missing that someone who you thought was going to be your wife, but you're realizing that maybe she's not the person she once was.

What is your favorite lyric that 2 (Coldplay) has sung?
From "Swallowed In The Sea": "What good is it to live with nothing left to give / forget but not forgive by loving all you see / the streets you're walking on are a thousand houses long / that's where I belong and you belong with me / not swallowed in the sea"

How did you get into 3 (Derek Webb)?
He was in my favorite band (Caedmon's) for the longest time, and his songwriting was so different from what I was hearing on the radio at the time. I loved his style, I loved his voice, and after meeting him and getting to talk with him on several occasions, I realized he was a really smart, nice guy as well.

What was the first song you heard by 1 (Caedmon's Call)?
Probably "Hope To Carry On". I hate that song now, but it was hugely popular in college back then.

What is your favorite song by 4 (Sufjan Stevens)?
This is like asking me to pick between two of my children. But if I had to pick a child, I'd say "John Wayne Gacy, Jr". I've never heard a song so moving, sad, and beautiful.

How many times have you seen 9 (Death Cab For Cutie) live?
Four times. The best was at Emo's in Austin, shortly before Plans was released.

What is a good memory you have involving 2 (Coldplay)?
Austin City Limits. My, my cousin and our girlfriends at the time spent the weekend in Austin, chilling out, listening to great music, and just enjoying each others company. It was a brilliant weekend, and it was capped off by seeing Coldplay close out the festival in grand style. After the show, it was amazing trying to just get to the bus when we were trapped with 120,000 other people trying to do the same thing. It was extremely dusty and I got dirt in my lungs and was sick for about 2 weeks. I also had to drive home at 3 in the morning and just barely made it back in time for work, but I'd do it all again in a heartbeat, and in fact I WILL be doing it this year as well.

Is there a song of 8 (Jimmy Eat World) that makes you sad?
"Hear You Me" never fails to choke me up.

What is your favorite album of 5 (Andrew Peterson)?
I can't choose one. Sorry.

What is your favorite lyric that 3 (Derek Webb) has sung?
From "I Want A Broken Heart": "There's a great padlock on the place where I was free / and I'm feeling bad from swallowing the key"

What is your favorite song of 1 (Coldplay)?
"Swallowed In The Sea." I love so many songs by them, but this one hits the heart every time.

What is your favorite song of 10 (Radiant)?
This one is easy. Although "That Girl" will probably catch up eventually, it's always been "Do Not Delay."

How many times have you seen 8 (Jimmy Eat World) live?
Three times
What is your favorite album of 1 (Caedmons Call)?
Forty Acres.

What is a great memory you have considering 9 (Death Cab For Cutie)?

Austin City Limits 2005, again.

What was the first song you heard by 8 (Jimmy Eat World)?
Probably something off Clarity or Static Prevails. Josh loved them a long time before I did, and I still don't like those first two albums, but I'm pretty sure it was "Lucky Denver Mint" or something along those lines.

What is your favorite cover by 2 (Coldplay)?
"Lips Like Sugar" by Echo and the Bunnymen.

Standard