Uncategorized

Review: Bridge To Terabithia

I’m a sucker for a good fantasy movie. I place the blame squarely on the little nerd inside me that didn’t really partake in any activities outside of reading long books when he was a child. Now that the little nerd is all grown up, he has developed a soft spot for movies (usually adapted from equally excellent fantasy books) where the imagination reigns supreme and the real world fades away.

Bridge To Terabithia is a surprisingly good story. I’ll cop to never reading the book, which for a change I’m actually quite grateful for. I don’t think I would have enjoyed this story nearly as much as I did had I known the plot points and twists.

Yes, this is a Disney flick and it’s not going to win over any voters come Academy time, but for older folk like me, it’ll definitely make you wish you were still a kid. It’s strange in that it’s basically a children’s tale that deals with mature topics such as God, faith, anger and horrible loss in a way that everyone, no matter the age, can relate to. Despite being created by Walden Media, it’s not Narnia, nor is it trying to be. It is, however, a film that can help parents begin conversations with their children about some very serious issues.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go to sleep, and I hope that a land as fantastical as Terabithia awaits.

Rating: ** (out of ****)

Standard

One thought on “Review: Bridge To Terabithia

  1. bford says:

    Yes, the movie is moving along nicely then bam….. didn’t see that coming… I think reading the book also would have spoiled this movie for me. I generally enjoy reading a book before a movie and then seeing what has changed, but the turning point in this movie is just stunning, although afterwards you think, I should have seen it coming.

    bford

Comments are closed.