Uncategorized

213.3

Kevin Smith is looking a lot skinnier these days, and he’s doing the same thing that Jason, myself and a ton of others are doing: this new movement called “fatblogging” (kudos to Jason for the name).

When I joined Lifetime Fitness on December 28, I was 226 pounds, the heaviest I’ve ever been in my entire life. I was in the Army, of course, but hadn’t done any kind of physical training since last summer, and as a result was pretty much as out of shape as I was before going to basic training. That’s bad.

I had surgery to have my wisdom teeth removed last week, and when I weighed myself at the end of last week, I was at 205.3. I was estatic, but I didn’t take into consideration that a lot of that weight I had dropped was probably water weight; I wasn’t really allowed to drink anything for a few days after the surgery, and I’ve been drinking water like crazy as of late to make up for it.

I didn’t make it to the gym yesterday, but I did get a Polar heart monitor. I’d heard so many good things about it that I needed to at least give it a shot, so I got the cheapest version they have. I wore it to the gym today, and let me tell you something: the difference that heart monitor makes in my workout is absurdly amazing. I was able to set my threshold heart rate (what I wanted as my target and what I didn’t want to drop below), and for 20 minutes of elliptical training and 30 minutes of basketball, I was able to keep my heart rate right around my premium anabolic rate of 152 . The crazy thing is that it takes a lot less work to keep 152 than I had previously thought, so I wasn’t burning myself out as quickly, and as a result I was able to go hard for an hour without feeling like I needed to just lay down and die. I also learned that basketball is absolutely great cardio; it’s fascinating to see what your heart rate is like during various activities.

Jason, Wil, Robert, and anyone else who’s doing this: get yourself a Polar monitor. Don’t skimp and get the $5 one that doesn’t work. Get yourself a Polar and just watch what kind of difference it makes in your workout. If you’re doing cardio you’ll see an immediate difference, as you’re able to control your workout to stay in your optimum zone, and if you’re weight training, you’ll be amazed to see just how high your heartrate is while hitting the weights.

Anyway, with all that aside, I weighed in at 213.3 today. That’s still 13 pounds less than what I weighed when I started, and I haven’t really had an optimal workout until today. And there’s also the fact that my diet, while better than it used to be, still isn’t perfect. I’m working on it. I had a post-workout Buffalo Chicken Quesadilla (from Lifetime, completely healthy) and I’ll probably try to have a chicken breast, rice and a ton of water for dinner tonight.

You can watch my Traineo profile for more information about my “lifestyle change” (it’s not a diet or a workout, it’s a lifestyle change).

Standard

One thought on “213.3

Comments are closed.