Uncategorized

The Movies Of Summer 08

Right, so it’s only April 2007 and I’m already drooling with anticipation for the summer of 2008.

Why?

The Dark Knight should be self-explanatory. Batman Begins was an amazing film, and the second features Heath Ledger as Joker, which is an outstanding casting choice. It’s been rumored that Warner is going to leak an image of Ledger as the Joker at some point in the next two weeks to ward off all the Photoshop fakes that’ve been swarming the next over the last week, and I can’t wait to see what direction they take him. Judging from Batman Begins, my guess is that it’ll be a scary and realistic Joker as opposed to the Nicholson version. It also has Aaron Eckhart as Harvey Dent/Two Face, and there’s a rumor going around about Phillip Seymour Hoffman signing on to take the Penguin role, although I’m hoping they save that for the third film.

Speed Racer is fascinating just because it was, along with Transformers and GI Joe, the prominent cartoon of my childhood. They also made a genius casting decision with this one in using Emile Hirsch as Speed Racer and Matthew Fox as Racer X. Oh, and Christina Ricci as Trixie should be divine as well. I’m not sure the frenetic pace of Speed Racer will translate to live action or if they’ll stay true to the source material, but I’m interested to find out.

Indiana Jones 4 is a flick we’ve all been waiting a long, long time for, and it looks like it’s finally going to become a reality. Shia Lebeouf as Indy’s son is fantastic, as Shia is one of my favorite young actors and I strongly suspect he’ll be fantastic in this movie. He was great in Disturbia and made an otherwise somewhat-bland movie into an exciting way to waste a few hours. And his performance in A Guide To Recognizing Your Saints was a blowaway, Oscar-mention worthy masterpiece.

Halo. I don’t need to say anything more, do I? Nope.

The truly scary thing is that there’s a lot more movies that I consider must-see in 2008 that haven’t even been officially announced yet.

Standard

2 thoughts on “The Movies Of Summer 08

  1. Indiana Jones 4 is a flick we’ve all been waiting a long, long time for

    I could not have said it better. I’ll admit that I didn’t know part 4 was even in the works, much less a year away from release. (Thank you, Jeremy, for bringing closet standers such as myself into the light of day.) 🙂

    I have to agree 100% about Shia LeBeouf. Joe and I first saw him when we watched the series, Project Greenlight. Although we never saw the movie The Battle of Shaker Heights, which PG followed from concept to completion, we were both struck by this young man who, at 16, was already fabulous in his own right. It should be very interesting to see the dynamic he creates with Harrison Ford.

    I’m not sure I should mention the fact that I haven’t seen Disturbia yet since……. well, since I’m kind of a big chicken. I probably won’t hold out much longer though since in addition to Shia, it also has one of my all-time favorites, David Morse. 🙂

Comments are closed.