Uncategorized

UFC 75 Results

I’m only doing the main card, as it’s late and I’ve got to get up early in the morning, but I wanted to post some quick thoughts on the fights from UFC 75 tonight.

HOUSTON ALEXANDER D. ALLESIO SAKARA (KO, R1)

Dude, I told you so: Houston Alexander is a bad, bad man. Pretty much a repeat of the Jardine fight here. Alexander came out and killed Sakara with several knees to the head and finished with a ground and pound. This guy has to be elevated into the upper echelon of light heavyweights immediately; I know it’ll be awhile before he gets a title shot, but he should at least get to fight a top contender. I know I’d love to see him destroy Tito Ortiz in this fashion.

MARCUS DAVIS D. PAUL TAYLOR (SUBMISSION, R1)

This was the fight of the night, and it was also pretty short. I thought Davis was done for early, but he rebounded and got the submission of the night on Taylor for the win.

CHEICK KONGO D. MIRKO CRO COP (DECISION)

Mirko should probably retire now. In no way, shape or form is he the same fighter that he was even a year ago in PRIDE. He was dominated by Kongo and looked tentative, and never landed a single high kick. He’s lost to two low level fighters at this point, and I don’t think he’s ever going to be a player in the heavyweight division. He could drop to light heavyweight, but I don’t think he will. He needs to decide if he wants to fight again, and if he does, he needs to get involved with a real training team and learn the cage, because he’s like a fish out of water in there.

MICHAEL BISPING D. MATT HAMILL (DECISION)

I think Hamill was robbed here. I went into this fight not liking Hamill at all, but I thought he dominated this fight with the exception of a few moments in round three. After the fight, Bisping made me hate him by acting cocky, like he dominated the fight, and Hamill was gracious in getting robbed out of the win, saying that Bisping won fair and square. If Bisping doesn’t drop to 185, there needs to be a rematch between these two guys in December.

RAMPAGE JACKSON D. DAN HENDERSON  (DECISION)

Henderson looked like he was going to dominate the fight at the beginning, but Rampage showed real skills in staying out of danger. This was a pretty good fight, and I’m glad Rampage won because I think he’s the most entertaining fighter on the planet. His post-fight interviews are becoming the stuff of legend, and tonight was no different. This is probably no skin off of Henderson’s back, because Dana White has already said that he’s going to get a shot at unifying the 185-pound belt, and with the way he was able to overpower Jackson for much of this fight, I’m pretty sure he’ll be significantly better than Anderson Silva or Rich Franklin.

Where does Jackson go from here? I don’t think you can have him wait until April to face the winner of the Liddell (or Jardine)/Wanderlei Silva fight. What they SHOULD do, and what I think will happen, is that the winner of the Forrest Griffin/Shogun fight in two weeks will get a title shot, probably in January. I’d love to see Rampage vs. Shogun, although I don’t like Rampage’s chances in that one.

Standard