Music

Visit The Rabbit Room

Andrew Peterson is a guy who probably makes my top five list of songwriters of all time. He’s incredible, a true wordsmith, and even now I feel a peace listening to his music that instantly transports me back centuries, to a time and place I didn’t occupy. I can still remember the first time I ever heard one of his records; I was sitting in my dorm room at Blinn College in Brenham, Texas, and my cousin had traveled to College Station to see Caedmons Call play a show the night before. Josh woke up and excitedly told me that yes, Caedmons was great, but the true star of the show was the opening act, a fellow named Andrew Peterson. At that point in my life, I was just dipping my toe into folk-based music, and so I wasn’t sure I felt like digesting any more new artists. I decided to give Andrew’s music a chance, and I can tell you without the slightest amount of hyperbole that it was one of those moments where I instantly fell in love with an artist.

It’s now ten years later, and I’ve purchased every single one of Andrew Peterson’s records. I’ve seen him in concert twice, once in a freezing cold barn in the middle of a pasture and once at a church, and he consistently amazes me with his songwriting abilities. His craft and the care he puts into his stories is something that I strive to attain.

Andrew has a new website, called The Rabbit Room. I’ll let him tell you the story of the Rabbit Room, but go pay the site a visit. I’m already subscribed, and it’s going to be an incredible place.

Standard