Pop Culture

Chef Robert Irvine: Liar!

Robert Irvine has always gotten on my nerves, and he’s probably my least-favorite when it comes to the Food Network chefs. The St. Petersburg Times has done an expose on Irvine, proving that he’s pretty much a liar who never cooked for the White House, never made Princess Diana’s wedding cake, and was never knighted by the Queen Of England. It’ll be interesting to see what happens to his Food Network show with this out of the bag.

UPDATE: Robert Irvine was fired by the Food Network late last week.

Standard

15 thoughts on “Chef Robert Irvine: Liar!

  1. It interesting this coming out now about chef Robert Irving. I have watched his show from time to time, I dont seem to have a problem with him. But my wife on the other hand has never like him from the get-go, saying she thought he was full of himself, arrogant and a little too opinionated for his own good. Looks like that attitude has come back to bite him. It will be interesting to see how this plays out.

  2. she thought he was full of himself, arrogant and a little too opinionated for his own good.

    This is exactly why I can’t stand the guy. I like good personalities and there’s nothing wrong with a healthy ego (especially for a television personality), but Irvine is grating, annoying and more full of himself than anyone else on the network. He doesn’t impart any wisdom and the only memorable episode of his show that I’ve ever seen was the baseball park episode, and that’s more because I love baseball than anything else.

  3. Janie says:

    I blame the food network every bit as much as Chef Irvine. Yes, he was wrong to lie, but are we supposed to believe that the FN never checked him out, and had no idea that his resume’ was fudged? That’s hard to imagine. I’ve always liked his show, and that’s not to say I believe all of it is “real”. And I don’t think he should lose the show, just clarify his resume.

  4. Elizabeth says:

    The guy is talented! No doubt, unless the food network completely faked things behind the scenes. The guy is a master at catering and food prep beyond most people’s possible understanding. So he exaggrated some of his work history (like no-one else in the world has done that) although doing internationally was not very wise, the point is his show was great to watch and as a person in the food service business, I was always picking up pointers and was always impressed his abilities, as a chef and a leader/mamanger. If you have never been in the position to be responsible for feeding hundreds of folks then you can’t begin to image the pressure.

    I never saw him as arrogant, you guys need to watch some Gordon Ramsay if you want to see arrogance in a Chef, I was looking forward to watching his adventures for seasons to come and a quite sad and disappointed.

  5. Carol says:

    That was a good point about Foodnetwork not checking his resume. This is the second time in recent memory that there was a scandel over one of their programs and someone involved.

    On the most recent Next Network Star show, one of the finalists was caught lying and they didn’t reveal anything about it until the very end.

    Foodnetwork needs to take some of this blame for not doing their job. I would have thought that the more a guy claims, the more they would want to be sure that it’s accurate.

  6. Nan says:

    I really do not care if some of his resume is exaggerated. So, change his bio and intro. Dinner Impossible is a fun and engaging show and I cannot imagine it without Irvine. I hope Food Network reconsiders. I also think Food Network has an obligation to check out credentials before they let someone host a show and make claims about their experience.

  7. Just finished watching Robert Irvine’s show, Dinner Impossible, filmed in Pennsylvania on the Punxatawney groundhog dinner, as well as the dinner for 4000at the Governor’s mansion.. It comes on at 1 am in our area, but my husband and I never fail to watch his show, and if it came on at 4 am, I’d be sitting here watching it. This man has a fantastic show and I’m sure he has a tremendous following. It is an exciting hour, which goes by too fast, and all of his shows we have watched have been fantastic. I doubt very much they will ever find anyone to take his place, and when his shows no longer appear, we will get to bed earlier because we will be no longer watching the Food Network. None of our friends will either, and I’m sure we aren’t the only ones. If Marc Summers is smart, he’ll pt him back where he belongs! Check out all the lies that have been told by guys that have lived in Washington.

  8. Rachaelle says:

    I hope this Goes thru, I DONT CARE WHAT YOU SAY!! HE IS A GREAT CHEF,GREAT PERSON, FULL OF LOVE, AND HUMILITY AND IF YOU PPL CANT FORGIVE AND FORGET THIS NASTY COMMENTS THEN WELL FELL SORRY FOR YOU! HE CAN OUT COOK AND OUT THINK A LOT OF CHEFS IV WORKED WITH. HE DOSENT DESERVE THIS NASTINESS SO KNOCK IT OFF!!!!

  9. Rachaelle says:

    CHEF ROBERT IS THE GREATEST CHEF EVER, HE IS VERY SMART, BRAVE, LOVING, AND TALENTED,HE IS NOBLE,HE SAID HE WAS SORRY AND HE REPENTED FOR WHAT HE DID.I BELIEVE G-D HAS IN FACT FORGIVEN HIM AND HE APOLOGISED, THAT OUGHT TO BE EONOUGH FOR THE NAY SAYERS.

  10. Judy says:

    What about the “chairman” on the Iron Chef shows? The guy is an actor and martial artist. And about chefs being loud, obnoxious and full of themselves (my words), I have found that many chefs are. Outside of that, I enjoy Dinner Impossible and Iron Chef. Something about watching other people working hard and fast and getting it all done. Love it.

    Another thing…..ever notice that what they plate on camera is not the same as what is shown at the end of the show? Hey, reality tv that ain’t quite real……

  11. Gloria S. says:

    I hope Food net work reconsiders chef Robert Irvine hosting Dinner Impossible, he is what makes the show!!!!!!!!

  12. Gosh, am I the last to know, I saw you tried to use one of the iron chefs as a replacement, NOT the same, Robert Irvine, is a great chef, not many to fill his shoes. He did a great job on this show made it seem so real. My wife and I both loved it. As someone else said look at the guys in Washington… He apoligized for what he did, thats enough embarassment I think.
    Put the show back on, The Food network will never be the same without Chef Robert

  13. twohawks says:

    So what he stretched the truth some in some of his statements and totally lied bout being knighted by the queen. If you read his side you’ll understand.
    Bottom line; Chef Robert is one of the best chefs around. Look at your politicans that run your cities, states and country, they have told major lies, had stolen from the ppl, been involved in illegal activities, I dont see any of you whinning bout them and those politicans you still vote back into office, go figure. You all act is if Chef Robert is the worse person on Earth. FN kicked him of the FN Dinner:Impossible and thought they could bring in someone else that was in no way better than Chef Robert. FN found that out, that is why they have brought Chef Robert back to his Dinner:impossible.
    Yes, he might come off as harsh to his sou chefs but think about the pressure he is under, getting dinner for 200 done in 6 hours, can you do that? I know you can’t, you probally cant even get dinner done for 4 in 2 hours especially if your microwave breaks down or the McDonald’s down the road is closed.
    Those that whine about how bad Chef Robert is, why is it you continue to watch his Dinner:Impossible?
    You want to whine about someone, whine about how your govt is ripping us off.

    Fire up the Grill

Comments are closed.