General

Coldplay — “Violet Hill”

As anyone who knows me knows, I’m a gigantic Coldplay fan. In fact, they’re my favorite band in the world and have been for a long, long time. So it was with much anticipation that I woke up this morning and downloaded the new single, Violet Hill, which the band released for free on its website.

My thoughts? This is not the same Coldplay I fell in love with, but in many ways, it’s better. Violet Hill is far edgier, darker and more experimental than anything they have ever done. After the long ambient opening, the tune opens up with bombastic drums, guitars that are grittier than anything I ever expected from Coldplay, and an absolutely fantastic bass tone that holds the whole thing together.

Chris Martin remarked that the first three albums were “a trilogy” and that Viva La Vida would be something much different, something much more evolved and edgy, and if the first single is any indication, he was speaking the truth. It’s going to be off-putting to a lot of Coldplay fans who love the slow, soft rock of the past three records, but I love seeing an established band take risks.

Can’t wait for the album.

Standard