Personal

Changes, Part 243

Plenty has happened in my life since I last updated the blog.

For starters, I’m back in Katy after a year of living in Las Vegas. I enjoyed my time there, but I always missed home. I’m a guy who grew up in the middle of a tight-knit family. And I don’t just mean parents and siblings, but cousins, grandparents, aunts and uncles. I think I may have been the first person in my family to actually move away, and I felt it the entire time I was gone. I always wondered what it would be like living in the hustle and bustle of another big city, and I’m glad I got to experience that. But I’m also thrilled to be back in the arms of the same small town where I grew up. I never thought I’d say that, really, but there you have it. I will miss the friends I made in Vegas and I’ll miss the good times, but I’m mostly just happy to be back home.

I’m staying involved in mixed martial arts. I can’t say how just yet, but I’m not going in a wildly different direction for my career. I love this industry too much to just give it up. I won’t be traveling as much, and that’s somewhat of a blessing, because while I love to travel and see the world, I also love staying at home. I’ve seen far more of the world in the past two years than I ever thought possible, and I’ll be eternally grateful for that opportunity.

So, yeah. It’s good to be home. And it’ll be good to see where life takes me next. Ten years ago – well, five years ago, really – I never could have envisioned myself doing what I do for a career. The uncertainty of life, that feeling of never really knowing what lies around the corner, is one of the things that makes it so nerve-wracking, hectic and beautiful, all at the same time.

I’m ready to see what happens next.

Standard