movies

My 2014 Oscar Picks

This is one of the first times in a very long time that I’ve seen every film up for a major award at the Academy Awards.

I usually miss a few, but I made a special effort to see everything I could this year. And this does not make me an expert by any means, but at least I’m better informed than I usually am.

These are my picks for the major awards. I don’t really pay attention to the awards leading up to the Oscars, so they don’t influence my picks at all. Mostly, I pick with my gut. It is a gut that has been wrong many times, of course, so I’ll just tell you these are my favorites and we’ll move on. If you want real predictions from a very smart man, go check out my buddy Matt Erickson. He’s way better at this stuff.

BEST PICTURE: 12 YEARS A SLAVE

This is one of the most powerful films I’ve ever seen. So powerful, in fact, that I cannot imagine ever watching it again. It is extremely difficult to watch, and one time was enough. But it was easily the best film I saw this year, by a wide margin. My favorite movie of the year was Wolf of Wall Street, and while that was a fantastic flick, it comes nowhere close to the importance of 12 Years.

BEST DIRECTOR: ALFONSO CUARON, GRAVITY

I’d give this award to Cuaron simply for what he was able to accomplish with Gravity. Such a stunning and unique film.

ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE: Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club

ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine

ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE: Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE: Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave

ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY: Her

ADAPTED SCREENPLAY: 12 Years a Slave

Standard