Health

StrongLifts Update: Week 3

I wanted to post a quick update with my progress after three weeks of steady StrongLift workouts.

If you recall, these were my beginning numbers. Keep in mind that these numbers are for 5 sets of 5 reps in all but deadlift, which is 1 set of 5 reps:

Squat: 135
Bench: 100
Row: 65
Press: 50
Deadlift: 135

Here are my current numbers after 3 weeks:

Squat: 195
Bench: 135
Row: 90
Press: 85
Deadlift: 215

As you can see, I’ve made remarkable strength gains already. I’m packing on muscle, and it is readily apparent when I look in the mirror. My shoulders are getting bigger, and my pecs…well, I have pecs for the first time in my life. My upper back is starting to develop a bit of a V-shape, too.

So far, I’m loving the workout. I’m also eating super clean and doing a post-workout protein and creatine smoothie. I may need to up my caloric intake once I start getting into heavier weights, but for now, I’m managing just fine.

Standard