Whole Life Challenge

My Whole Life Challenge Workout Schedule

So, here’s the schedule I came up with. Tomorrow morning I’m doing the official baseline workout, which is this:

OFFICIAL WLC Workout

Complete as many reps as possible (AMREP) in 11 minutes of:

800m Run (1/2 mile) (or 1,000m Row); followed by
75 Squats; followed by
50 Sit Ups; followed by
25 Push Ups; followed by
as many Burpees as possible in time remaining.

Count ALL reps completed in under 11 minutes (squats + sit ups + push ups + burpees) as your score.

EXAMPLES:
1. If you complete all the squats (75) and 25 sit ups, your score would be 100.

2. If you complete all squats (75), sit ups (50), and push ups (25), plus 5 burpees, your score would be 155.

So that will give me my baseline workout. From there, my actual workouts will begin. Here’s what I’ve come up with.

MONDAY
7:00 am: Dog walk, 1 mile
7:30 am: Stretching
8:00 am: Gym (Stronglifts 5×5 weight training)
7:00 pm: 2 mile run
8:30pm: Stretching
Throughout day: Short dog walks

TUESDAY
7:00 am: Dog walk, 1 mile
7:30 am: Stretching
8 am: Yoga
4 pm: Swimming
7:30 pm Dog walk, 1 mile
Throughout day: Short dog walks

WEDNESDAY
7:00 am: Dog walk, 1 mile
7:30 am: Stretching
8:00 am: Gym (Stronglifts 5×5 weight training)
7:00 pm: 2 mile run
8:30pm: Stretching
Throughout day: Short dog walks

THURSDAY
7:00 am: Dog walk, 1 mile
7:30 am: Stretching
8 am: Yoga
4 pm: Swimming
7:30 pm Dog walk, 1 mile
Throughout day: Short dog walks

FRIDAY
7:00 am: Dog walk, 1 mile
7:30 am: Stretching
8:00 am: Gym (Stronglifts 5×5 weight training)
7:00 pm: 2 mile run
8:30pm: Stretching
Throughout day: Short dog walks

SATURDAY
9:00 am: Stretching
1:00 pm: Swimming
8 pm: Dog walk, 1 mile

SUNDAY
Stretching
Dog walks, short
Rest

EVERY TWO WEEKS
Repeat WLC baseline workout to gauge status

As the weather here in Nevada cools down and gives way to fall, I’ll substitute some of those days with long hikes at Red Rock or Mount Charleston. I’ll probably even substitute a few days with a trip to Yosemite. I do love hiking, after all.

But in general, this will be my guide.

The Stronglifts program is one I have done before, with great results. It is focused on adding muscle and functional strength and in reshaping the body. I’m adding a whole bunch of cardio and stretching and more cardio on top of it. I hate cardio, but I am going to do it, and I am going to do a lot of it.

This, combined with my super-strict diet, will lead to results. I am going to get to 170 pounds by the time December 1st rolls around. I’ve talked previously about my goals, and I have a lot of them. But this is the one that delivers the most immediate visible results. Those visible results are a sign of my commitment, and I am committed.

I can’t wait for Saturday. Let the Games begin.

Standard