Food, Recipes, Whole Life Challenge

Whole Life Challenge Stir Fry

As the Whole Life Challenge begins, I’m going to be looking for things to make that are WLC compliant (on the Performance level). These things need to consist of meat and vegetables and not much else. And sometimes, the easier they are to make, the better off I’ll be. Because if can pre-make a whole bunch of things using simple ingredients, then re-heat them for later meals, I’m going to be a lot less likely to feel like a need an Arby’s Big Montana and curly fries in my belly.

And trust me: It does not take much for ole’ Jeremy to feel like he needs a Big Montana and curly fries in his belly.

I’ve thrown together this recipe before, but never done exact measurements. Tonight I decided to log everything and then write up the recipe for those who might be interested.

IMG_4900These are the main ingredients. The chicken breast is from Sprouts, which is also known as my new home away from home. There’s some organic broccoli, carrots and a yellow bell pepper.

The stir fry sauce is simple. Some coconut aminos (from Bragg’s, naturally), some sesame oil, some rice vinegar, some ginger, salt, pepper and red pepper flakes.

IMG_4902It is very easy. Brown the chicken in a skillet or wok (I don’t have a wok, so you can guess which one I use), preferably with coconut oil. Steam your veggies in the microwave before throwing them in the grill with the chickies. Toss your stir fry sauce in there and stir (ha!) everything until the veggies are tender, but not TOO tender.

And when you’re done, eat it. I ate all of it. You can, too. It’s healthy, so you might as well.

Here’s the actual recipe. You’ll have to pardon me, but I’m not very good at writing recipes. Hopefully you don’t set your kitchen on fire after reading my directions. If you do, it’s not my fault (it is probably my fault).

IMG_4903

Stir fry sauce:

6 tbps coconut aminos
1 tbsp rice vinegar
2 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper
crushed red pepper flakes to taste

1 chicken breast
1 bell pepper, any color
1 head broccoli crowns
Carrots (baby or otherwise)

Chop up the chicken breast into squares. For the veggies, cut however you want; I sliced the carrots rather thinly. I also like slicing the broccoli because you can get nice crisp edges on both sides. For the peppers, I prefer cutting into strips, then cutting in half. One look at the picture above will show you what I mean, but please feel free to ignore me.

Brown the chicken in a skillet, then drain. Put all your chopped veggies in a microwave-safe bowl with one tablespoon of water, then cover it in plastic wrap. Put that bad boy in the microwave for two minutes, give or take 30 seconds.

Toss your veggies and chicken together with the stir fry, and cook until the veggies are tender. Then here’s what you do: you eat it. You eat all of it. And you like it.

IMG_4906

Thanks for reading.

 

 

Standard