Whole Life Challenge

And the Whole Life Challenge Baseline Workout Results Are…

I woke up this morning, ready to rock and roll on my Whole Life Challenge baseline workout. I was excited. It felt a little like Christmas, because I knew today was the start of something awesome for my physical and mental health. I started eating correctly a few days ago, but today was the moment I would gauge my current fitness level with a test that could be repeated every so often to see how much progress I am making.

I took my before photos. This was not fun, as I had to take them shirtless and all of the hairs (on my head and on my chest and on my chin) were running in very different directions like a bunch of crazy little ginger people. But I took the photos, and now I’ll have another progress indicator to look back upon two months down the road.

No, I won’t be posting these photos on my blog. Not until after the contest, anyway.

Then I did the workout. I decided to opt against running 800m (1/2 mile) as I’d planned, because I wanted to be able to repeat this workout precisely every two weeks. My route was mapped out to end up back at my house; considering I’m moving out of this house on October 20, it didn’t make sense to try and repeat the same exact map. I’m only moving right around the corner, but it would still be a slightly different route due to my lack of wanting to avoid being shot by the people who will live here after I move out. They probably don’t want to wake up and find me doing air squats in their driveway. That might get weird.

So I decided to go with the 1000m rowing instead of of 800m walking, which meant I needed to head up to City Athletic Club’s Crossfit room. I stretched for a bit, and then I did the workout.

As a reminder, this is the workout:

OFFICIAL WLC Workout

Complete as many reps as possible (AMREP) in 11 minutes of:

800m Run (1/2 mile) (or 1,000m Row); followed by
75 Squats; followed by
50 Sit Ups; followed by
25 Push Ups; followed by
as many Burpees as possible in time remaining.

Count ALL reps completed in under 11 minutes (squats + sit ups + push ups + burpees) as your score.

EXAMPLES:
1. If you complete all the squats (75) and 25 sit ups, your score would be 100.

2. If you complete all squats (75), sit ups (50), and push ups (25), plus 5 burpees, your score would be 155.

I honestly figured I would score below 100. I joked with my sisters that I would likely be scoring a 7, but that didn’t seem possible since the Whole Life Challenge scoring application won’t even let you put anything lower than a 20.

IMG_4916

My fish oil (Barlean’s Omega Swirl) is delicious because it does not taste like liquid salmon. Buy it at Sprouts or Amazon

And then I did the workout, and I scored a 146. So I completed the 1000m row, 75 squats, 50 sit-ups and 21 pushups in 11 minutes. And yes, that’s far better than I figured I would do. For real. And the best part? I didn’t throw up on myself or anyone around me. I didn’t pass out. I did the workout, I laid on the floor and did some honest to goodness sweating, and then I came home and made a breakfast consisting of organic pork sausage and eggs. I took my fish oil. I feel great.

This is the start of a good day. I can feel it. My confidence is high, and that’s because I know I’m accomplishing many things. Physically, mentally, emotionally; I am in such a better place right now than I have been in a very long time, perhaps even five years. And though I know I have a long way to go before I reach my ultimate goals, I feel like I’m getting back to the core of who I actually am, and that is the best feeling I’ve had in a long, long time.

Standard