General

Heart Rate Variability Training

Today, I began taking my baseline scores for heart rate variability training. I don’t science or math very well, but at its core, HRV is a tool that gives you a good picture of your body’s readiness for difficult and intense training sessions on any given day.

The theory is that, once you have established your baseline HRV scores, you are able to wake up each morning and, using a chest-strapped heart rate monitor (I have a Lifetime Training bluetooth chest strap monitor), get a clear picture of how ready you are for training hard that day.

Green means you’re good to go and you can train as intensely as humanly (or Botterly) possible. Yellow means you should probably stick to medium-intensity training and stretching, while Red means your body is suffering a bit and could use a rest day.

The idea behind HRV is that you are maximizing your training time by training as effectively as possible. I’ve heard about HRV from various fighters over the years, but never thought to try it myself. That is, until a few days ago when I did deadlifts for the first time in four months. The following two days? They’ve been hell. I spent a lot of time in the sauna and spa, but only today am I truly feeling 100%. And that’s probably because I tried to keep on working on (after deadlift day) when my body needed a rest.

I’ve already been cautioned that I’m probably overtraining by the doctor, so this is a tool that will help me see how my body is functioning. Being able to use data and numbers (even though I don’t math) to see how my body is functioning has been a revelation for me, and HRV is going to be a big help.

Standard